Mental Health

Fun Friday: Skylark Challenge #81

I found something I thought was fun this week!

First let me tell you how I found it.

Once upon a time, through an app on a server which no longer exists, I discovered a creative and diverse group of online social beings. We all loved the art of wordsmithing and playing off of each other’s thoughts and imaginings.

The app was a kind of Twitter/Instagram hybrid, initially named Heyku. It structured the writing to three lines of text with preset character limits. As time progressed, the ability to add pictures, voice recordings, and freestyle “scribbling” were incorporated and the app name was shortened to Ku.

Many of us joined a Facebook group to discuss all things Ku, as well as to share a wider, less limiting array of creative words.

I wound up dealing with drastic changes in my life and fell away from the Ku crew, as I am wont to do.

Yup. I went there.

By the time I returned, Ku was in its final death throes…and I lost a significant archive of my creative writing. More importantly, I lost connection with a lively bunch of people who challenged and encouraged me creatively.

Then, more life and my creative spirit continued to wither, right along with my desire to write at all.

Several days ago, one of these beautiful souls discovered and began following this blog. Then, he found me on FB and asked if we could be friends.

While perusing his timeline, I came across The Skylark Challenge. Once a week, a new set of prompt words are presented, along with an image which is an optional prompt. You can find out more, here, on lettrs.com.

This week’s challenge, to be submitted by Sunday night, is a four word prompt with the following image:

  • Nature
  • Primordial
  • Birth
  • Resuscitated


Here’s my offering:


Alternatively, if participating in The Skylark Challenge feels more like work than fun, simply think of one thing that made you smile this week and do anything special or creative about it, even if it’s just a brief description of why it made you smile.

Either way, please link back to this post. Here’s my original offering:


I’m looking forward to seeing what y’all come up with.

6 thoughts on “Fun Friday: Skylark Challenge #81”

    1. It was a lot of fun. However, this lettrs is more versatile and has a lot more prompts. One of the best things about that is that there are lettrs staff who are also part of the prompting/challenge process and not just involved in the BETA system changes. I’m really enjoying it. I’ve been able to do several pieces in the past few days, and it feels really good to be able to access that part of myself. I feel resuscitated, lol.

      Like

  1. I’m such a sucker for challenges..and then I just can’t cope..lol. First blog visit and it looks fabulous!! I’ll be catching up…may take some time..but I should get there…sooner or later..hehe

    Like

Talk to me . . .

