Mental Health

Musical Monday: Flawless, MercyMe

Genesis 1:27, 31a NIV
So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them…God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. 

I really struggle with self-acceptance.

My body is fat. Seriously fat. I literally have fat people medical issues, other than diabetes. There’s a large degree of self-loathing involved, which is reinforced in our society in just about every context and every way.

Fat-shaming is often disguised as concern, indeed the concern may be completely genuine. However, the message of the concern is completely centered in the deeply instilled belief that “fat = bad, thin = good.”

It’s so insidious that fat people shame each other in unconscious ways. I know because I’ve both done it and been on the receiving end of it:

Did you lose weight? You look good.

The unconscious message is the only way to look good is to be less of a person, taking up less space and that others have the right to decide and inform us of  the acceptability of our bodies.

Then there’s the whole lack of socio-economic clout and currency.  I’m not a person as much as I’m a generic member of an undesirable group, “the poor.”

I’m half Mexican, without the culture. I speak and think “white,” which gives me a token amount of privilege. But, the main question I’m asked is, “what are you?” Again, I’m a “what,” not a “who.”

There are so many statistical categories I fall into. It’s been been virtually impossible for me to figure out my personal identity, independent of all the labels placed on me by both society and myself.

Looking at my reflection in the mirror, all too often, it’s much easier to only see the flaws, than it is to see the God in me saying, “It is good. You are good. I love you just the way you are. My love has made you flawless.

Talk to me . . .

