Mental Health

Fun Friday: of “lettrs”, Haiku, & Skylarks

I love playing with words, so, writing challenges are pretty fun for me. I also pretty much live life online and through my phone. Yep, despite being nearly 50, I’m 2/3 of the way to living la vida millennial. So, when I came across the lettrs  app (yes, that’s the correct spelling and they also have a website.), I entered my little wordy nerdy nirvana filled with others who are compelled to write as much as my own compulsion drives me to write.

The bonuses are that a) they’re from all over the world: UK, Netherlands, India, to name a few and b) they are artists of all kinds: photography, painting, digital art, and more. There are many different prompts and challenges presented by fellow users, as well as the lettrs staff. So, there are many different options: haiku, photo stories, movies, current events, even sports (if you’re into that kind of thing *wink*).

My first full week inspired and challenged to the point that I created 11 new poems. Two were paired with prompt images. Here’s a gallery of what I did.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today, I have two options for you. There’s the Skylark Challenge, which will be regularly featured, and a haiku challenge. Don’t worry, if you don’t like wordplay, I have an idea for you, too.

First, The Skylark Challenge, as presented by Lady Skylark – Becca🐦

#SkylarkChallenge 82
THIS WEEK’S PROMPTS (use ALL 4 words).
*Peculiar
*Rhythm
*Compassion
*Crimson
*Use of the photo, is OPTIONAL this week. 🤓

 

IMG_1601
Original Oil Painting “View of the window” Etsy: KIMArtGallery listing #496417402 Artist: Misung Kim, 2016 https://www.etsy.com/listing/496417402/original-oil-painting-view-of-the-window

 

I tend to write poetically or with short prose. I’m not really a flash fiction storyteller. However, you can write anything in any form, as long as it somehow contains those four words.

However, IF you prefer the structure and brevity of haiku, there is also a challenge by a different lettr writer: Janine G.

“You can use as many words as you want/need, as long as you fill the correct syllable count to do so (5:7:5).

The world is crumbling
_____________________________ (7 syllables)
_____________________________ (5 syllables)

Example: Her original haiku as posted 04/10/2017

The world is crumbling
Tragedy in our newsprint
Almost ev’ry day.                 JD”

Now, for those who aren’t into writing to prompts, or creative writing – which is absolutely fine, we all have our strengths and our preferences – would you create a piece of art or take a photograph of one thing that put a smile on your face this week?

Maybe a song? I haven’t heard this song in a long time and while it isn’t exactly a “happy” song, it put a smile on my face and a bounce in my step:

One Republic, Counting Stars

If you have a blog, please create a post about whichever prompt you used and link back to this one. Then leave me a comment so I can go see what you came up with.

I look forward to seeing what makes you smile!

 

5 thoughts on “Fun Friday: of “lettrs”, Haiku, & Skylarks”

  1. I’ll have to think about joining in this. I do like to write and I like poetry. The problem is having the time. It is fun to write isn’t it? I’m glad you are having so much fun with this.

    Like

    1. Thanks Belle. It is fun, but, with my personality I’m in a slightly obsessive phase and acting a bit addicted to the social approval rating. It will die down. It always does. Just a matter of when, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me . . .

