Mental Health

Mended by Matthew West

A recent writing prompt on the lettrs app asked what we would wish for if we woke up and discovered that we had been given one wish to wish for anything we wanted, except for more wishes.

If I had one wish it would be for health & wholeness of body and mind.

I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia when I was 20. I lived with undiagnosed and untreated PTSD & Bipolar II Disorder for 30+ years.

Chronic pain, chronic fatigue, extreme lows & highs, impulsivity, and self-sabotaging behavior led me to where I am now – unable to work, physically unable to keep up with my youngest child & the grandchildren, and continuing to fight through the mental and emotional issues.

Even if I could change the past, I wouldn’t because they wouldn’t be them and I wouldn’t be me. However, being sound of mind and body, fully engaging in our shared lives would be the best possible gift.

I would have the energy and fortitude to engage with my community and participate in events and activities, both social and political.

I would have the stamina to continuously pursue my dreams and make the most of the gifts and talents I have been blessed with.

I could make a difference in more ways than simply words on a screen.

 

 

1 thought on “Mended by Matthew West”

  1. Yes, I agree with you. Your wish granted would be wonderful. It will be granted when you go to heaven, and mine too. We have that to look forward to. My world is very small, but I tell myself, “Think of what you can do, not what you can’t do.” That thought helps me.

    Like

Talk to me . . .

