Mental Health

I AM a Pre-existing Condition 

I am a pre-existing condition. Everything about my life, both past and present, is filled with pre-existing conditions.

      Sex abuse survivor.
      Domestic Violence survivor.
      History of and presently experiencing treatment for mental health issues: Depression, Bipolar Disorder, and PTSD.
      Three pregnancies, two c-sections.
      Hypothyroidism
      Diabetes
      Morbidly obese
      Dependent on public housing and Medicaid.
      Child on the autism spectrum.
      Unable to maintain employment.

I am the drain on the system that more affluent people shouldn’t have to pay to support.

The loud and clear message from my government is that I am less than valueless. I am less than unworthy. I am less than. Period. Dot. The End.

It’s difficult to fight against this message when it’s continually being validated by those around me who were negatively impacted by the ACA (Obamacare).

It’s hard not to even more deeply internalize these messages already embedded by the facts of my existence laid out above.

In dollars and cents, my continued existence doesn’t make profitable, free-market sense.

Yet, through the grief, fear, and despair, I fight on, because I am and my children are worth it.

1 thought on “I AM a Pre-existing Condition ”

  1. People who don’t want to help the sick have hearts of stone. They have no clue what it is like to be sick and poor. Not only that, they think they are Christians.

    Like

Talk to me . . .

