Mental Health

My Title Song(s)

Having been born in June of 1969, two and a half months before the Woodstock Music Festival, music has always been part of the warp and weft of my life.

While 80’s music was the soundtrack of my adolescent years, it’s 70’s music that formed my musical foundation. The Eagles, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Steve Miller Band, and Supertramp to name a few.

Two songs came to mind as I was contemplating this prompt:
The Logical Song by Supertramp
Fly Like an Eagle by The Steve Miller Band

The Logical Song is filled with wonderful word play and tells such a progressive story. Although, these aren’t characteristics I understood as a child. Most of the story is not relatable to my personal experiences. However, the chorus gets me every time I hear the song . . . including the moments when I hear it in my head.

“There are times when all the world’s asleep
The questions run too deep
For such a simple man
Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned
I know it sounds absurd
But please tell me who I am”

Today especially, with the state of our country and the world we live in, the line: “Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned?”, feels profoundly significant.

The second song is one I call the social worker’s anthem: Fly Like an Eagle by The Steve Miller Band. Read the lyrics in the verse and you’ll see why:

“Feed the babies
Who don’t have enough to eat
Shoe the children
With no shoes on their feet
House the people
Livin’ in the street
Oh, oh, there’s a solution”

40 years ago we had the same problems in our world as we do now.
“Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned?”

So often, throughout my childhood, adolescence, and adulthood, I’ve wanted, needed an escape from stress and depression.

“I want to fly like an eagle
To the sea
Fly like an eagle
Let my spirit carry me
I want to fly like an eagle
Till I’m free
Fly through the revolution”

But,
“Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’
Into the future.”

3 thoughts on “My Title Song(s)”

  1. Lovely post and it just reinforced that fact that lyrics of songs from before had a lot more meaning that the majority of the songs on air now. And yes…humanity it seems hasn’t really progressed…much. Reminds me of a Douglas Adam’s quote..about how human have this inability to learn from their ancestors..hehe.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me . . .

